Find my cycling route

No stage matches your requirements

You are here: Home

La Loire à Vélo from Tours to Saumur

[ Cycle routes EuroVelo 6 ]
  • 81 km

This EuroVelo 6 section, also part of the Loire à Vélo route, follows the mighty Loire, lined with varied vineyards, each with its own microclimate, linked to the confluences where the Cher, Indre and Vienne rivers join the Loire. Before entering Anjou, you cross the western part of Touraine, ‘The Garden of France’, both counties renowned for their quintessentially French attractions, including the local produce, and for French literary geniuses Rabelais, Ronsard and Balzac. An essential section with easy cycling.

Map loading...
Green pictograms are for Cyclists Welcome service providers
Chargement en cours... loading

The 4 stages of the section « La Loire à Vélo from Tours to Saumur »

  • Tours / Villandry

    Tours / Villandry [22 km]

    Touraine is known as ‘le Jardin de la France’ (The Garden of France) and Tours is a perfect central gateway for exploring it. This Loire à Vélo stage leads you along the south bank of the Cher River to the Château de Villandry, a major stop, with its world-famous gardens, before rejoining the Loire. Either side of Villandry are picturesque cycle paths leading to the great river. This stage proves extremely enjoyable.

    Difficulty: Family view the detail
  • Villandry / Rigny-Ussé

    Villandry / Rigny-Ussé [20.5 km]

    This is a star-studded Loire à Vélo stage, taking you from the glorious Château de Villandry, with its stunning gardens, on via the confluence of Loire and Cher rivers to the fairytale Château d’Ussé. On this stage, you cycle along a raised levée beside the Loire, allowing you wonderful views of the great river. This is a special stage, mainly along shared country roads.

    Difficulty: Family view the detail
  • Rigny-Ussé / Candes-St-Martin

    Rigny-Ussé / Candes-St-Martin [24 km]

    This Loire à Vélo stage is marked by atmospheric islands in the Loire colonized by birds. At the Indre River’s confluence with the Loire, the setting is unspoilt. Further west, enjoy one of the most magnificent panoramas on the Loire à Vélo and Eurovelo 6 routes from gorgeous Candes-St-Martin, looking onto the confluence of Vienne and Loire rivers. This stage is easy, alternating between greenways and quiet country roads.

    Difficulty: Intermediate view the detail
  • Candes-St-Martin / Saumur

    Candes-St-Martin / Saumur [17.7 km]

    This Loire à Vélo stage from Candes-St-Martin to Saumur takes you from Touraine into the famous neighbouring county of Anjou, offering a wealth of discoveries, alternating between wine and subterranean (or troglodyte) sights. Either stick to greenways down by the Loire, or choose the higher, more demanding route on small country roads, through vine-covered slopes, ending with a dramatic arrival at Saumur Castle.

    Difficulty: Intermediate Favourite view the detail

Trouver mon parcours vélo

Il n'existe aucune étape correspondant à vos critères

Vous êtes ici : Accueil

La Loire à Vélo de Tours à Saumur

[ Itinéraire EuroVelo 6 Bâle > Atlantique ]
  • 81 km

Ce tronçon de l’EuroVelo 6 commun avec La Loire à Vélo suit le fleuve royal qui se pare de vignobles tous baignés par des microclimats liés aux confluences du Cher, de l’Indre et de la Vienne avec la Loire. Le « jardin de la France » offre une dolce vita à la française grâce, entres autres, à la qualité des produits de ses terroirs, qui ont inspiré les œuvres de Rabelais, Ronsard et Balzac. Un parcours vélo aussi facile qu’indispensable.

Chargement de la carte en cours
En vert, les services "Accueil Vélo"
Chargement en cours... loading

Les 4 étapes du tronçon « La Loire à Vélo de Tours à Saumur »

  • Tours / Villandry

    Tours / Villandry [22 km]

    Au cœur du prestigieux Jardin de la France, Tours est une porte d’entrée idéale pour découvrir La Loire. Cette étape de La Loire à Vélo emprunte la rive sud du Cher jusqu’au château de Villandry, halte majeure avant de retrouver le fleuve. Vers l’aval ou l’amont, les cyclistes trouveront les pistes cyclables qui mènent à la Loire. Une étape fort plaisante !

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • Villandry / Rigny-Ussé

    Villandry / Rigny-Ussé [20.5 km]

    Cette étape de La Loire à Vélo s’offre un casting de rêve, avec le château de Villandry et ses jardins, le panorama sur le bec du Cher et le château d’Ussé évoquant un conte de fées. La Loire à Vélo emprunte ici une levée permettant aux cyclistes d’avoir toujours à l’œil le fleuve royal. Une étape plus qu'agréable, principalement sur routes partagées.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • Rigny-Ussé / Candes-St-Martin

    Rigny-Ussé / Candes-St-Martin [24 km]

    Sur cette étape de La Loire à Vélo, les îles offertes aux oiseaux confèrent au fleuve tout son caractère. La confluence avec l’Indre prend un tour sauvage, plus loin, le confluent avec la Vienne, à Candes-St-Martin, offre un des plus beaux panoramas de la Loire à Vélo et de l’Eurovelo 6. Un parcours plutôt facile où alternent voies vertes et petites routes.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire voir le détail
  • Candes-St-Martin / Saumur

    Candes-St-Martin / Saumur [17.7 km]

    Cette étape de La Loire à Vélo de Candes-St-Martin à Saumur propose une riche découverte qui alterne entre vignes prolifiques et sites troglodytes. Aux vélotouristes de choisir entre un itinéraire haut et sportif sur des petites routes par les coteaux viticoles, avec une arrivée panoramique au château de Saumur, ou dans le lit de la Loire par des voies vertes.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire Coup de coeur voir le détail