Find my cycling route

No stage matches your requirements

You are here: Home

La Loire à Vélo from Briare to Orléans

[ Cycle routes EuroVelo 6 ]
  • 100 km

Briare, a town crisscrossed by waterways, is establishing itself as a major crossroads of cycle routes in the French region of Centre Val de Loire. With its famous canal-bridge partly built by Eiffel, it also offers a splendid gateway into the official stretch of the Loire Valley (beginning at nearby Sully-sur-Loire) designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Map loading...
Green pictograms are for Cyclists Welcome service providers
Chargement en cours... loading

The 5 stages of the section « La Loire à Vélo from Briare to Orléans »

  • Briare / Gien

    Briare / Gien [12.3 km]

    The Briare canal-bridge is the highlight on this Loire à Vélo stage. The route then continues via hilly little roads to the town of Gien, renowned far and wide for its pottery. See how its haughty castle stands aloof above the town as you approach Gien via the Loire’s south bank. On this stage, several stretches are on roads with slopes.

    Difficulty: Intermediate view the detail
  • Gien / Sully-sur-Loire

    Gien / Sully-sur-Loire [28.5 km]

    This Loire à Vélo stage runs in part beside the Loire. Here, you reach the eastern end of the stretch of the Loire Valley designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The medieval Château de Sully provides a brilliant introduction, guarding the river, surveying cylists as they pass by. Several stretches of the route are along roads, with some significant slopes.

    Difficulty: Intermediate view the detail
  • Sully-sur-Loire / Germiny-des-Prés

    Sully-sur-Loire / Germiny-des-Prés [16 km]

    Leaving the superb Château de Sully-sur-Loire behind, this Loire à Vélo stage follows the great meanders in the Loire to the city of Orléans. Glorious, calm halts here include the magnificent Abbey of St-Benoît-sur-Loire and the ancient church at Germigny-des-Prés. This is an easy stage, mainly on greenways.

    Difficulty: Intermediate view the detail
  • Germiny-des-Prés / Jargeau

    Germiny-des-Prés / Jargeau [13 km]

    This Loire à Vélo stage sticks close to a great Loire meander leading to Châteauneuf-sur-Loire, a town with a museum dedicated to Loire mariners and trade. Lovely grounds planted with rare trees provide a peaceful place to stop. Continue to south-bank Jargeau via a raised levée affording lovely views across the Loire. The route is easy, on quiet roads and greenways.

    Difficulty: Family view the detail
  • Jargeau / Orléans

    Jargeau / Orléans [20.7 km]

    The dramatic skyline of the city of Orléans can be seen from afar, shifting with the meanders in the Loire as you draw closer. The outdoor sports and recreation centre of the Ile Charlemagne offers a green lung in the city, a place to relax before exploring this intense town. The route is easy, mainly on greenways.

    Difficulty: Family view the detail

Trouver mon parcours vélo

Il n'existe aucune étape correspondant à vos critères

Vous êtes ici : Accueil

La Loire à Vélo de Briare à Orléans

[ Itinéraire EuroVelo 6 Bâle > Atlantique ]
  • 100 km

Briare s’imposera bientôt comme un prestigieux carrefour des itinéraires cyclables de la Région Centre. C’est aussi avec son canal à bief, un somptueux sas avant l’entrée officielle à Sully-sur-Loire dans le périmètre du Val de Loire, classé par l’UNESCO au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité.

Chargement de la carte en cours
En vert, les services "Accueil Vélo"
Chargement en cours... loading

Les 5 étapes du tronçon « La Loire à Vélo de Briare à Orléans »

  • Briare / Gien

    Briare / Gien [12.3 km]

    Le pont-canal de Briare est l’attraction grand format de cette étape de La Loire à Vélo. L’itinéraire conduit par les vallons sur des petites routes vers la ville de Gien, haut lieu d’une faïencerie de renommée mondiale. L’altier château s’aperçoit dès la rive gauche de la Loire. Plusieurs passages sur routes avec quelques côtes.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire voir le détail
  • Gien / Sully-sur-Loire

    Gien / Sully-sur-Loire [28.5 km]

    Pour partie en bord de Loire, cette étape de La Loire à Vélo nous intronise dans le périmètre sacré du Val de Loire inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Le fameux château Renaissance de Sully en marque l’accès avec brio, sentinelle éternelle découverte par les cyclistes de passage. Plusieurs passages sur routes avec quelques bonnes côtes.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire voir le détail
  • Sully-sur-Loire / Germiny-des-Prés

    Sully-sur-Loire / Germiny-des-Prés [16 km]

    Après le superbe château de Sully-sur-Loire, cette étape de La Loire à Vélo suit les inlassables boucles du fleuve qui mènent à Orléans. Des haltes champêtres sont offertes comme Germigny-des-Prés et sa fameuse église ou à mi-chemin, St-Benoît-sur-Loire et sa magnifique abbaye. Une étape facile principalement sur des voies vertes.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire voir le détail
  • Germiny-des-Prés / Jargeau

    Germiny-des-Prés / Jargeau [13 km]

    Cette étape de La Loire à Vélo épouse la boucle du fleuve qui conduit à Châteauneuf-sur-Loire et son musée de la Marine de Loire. Son parc, arboré d’essences remarquables, est tout indiqué pour une halte paisible. C’est par une levée donnant de beaux aperçus du fleuve que l’on rejoint Jargeau. Parcours vélo facile sur petites routes et voies vertes.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • Jargeau / Orléans

    Jargeau / Orléans [20.7 km]

    La silhouette d’Orléans se découpe sur la rive droite de la Loire à mesure qu’on s’en approche, les circonvolutions du fleuve en faisant varier les perspectives. La base de loisirs de l’île Charlemagne, véritable poumon vert de l’agglomération, offre un sas de décompression avant l’animation urbaine. Parcours facile principalement sur voies vertes.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail