Find my cycling route

No stage matches your requirements

You are here: Home

La Loire à Vélo from Angers to Nantes

[ Cycle routes EuroVelo 6 ]
  • 107 km

This EuroVelo 6 section, shared with the Loire à Vélo route, goes through western Anjou, with its many rivers and wetlands, then into the Pays Nantais and the great city of Nantes. After Ancenis, the Loire broadens, its valley widens and its fresh waters mix with salty Atlantic waters carried up on the tides. Around Nantes, market gardening and vines thrive. So too do major contemporary art installations in the landscape, thanks to the Estuaire project. The cycling is easy.

Map loading...
Green pictograms are for Cyclists Welcome service providers
Chargement en cours... loading

The 8 stages of the section « La Loire à Vélo from Angers to Nantes »

  • Angers / Bouchemaine

    Angers / Bouchemaine [8.8 km]

    In the heart of Anjou, this Loire à Vélo stage goes from opposite Angers’s central castle out via the green setting of the Lac de Maine. This urban stage is startling, avoiding motorized traffic, taking you through parkland and alongside the Maine River. Bouchemaine is great for a stop, for its typical quayside restaurants or a picnic beside the Loire.

    Difficulty: Family view the detail
  • Bouchemaine / Chalonnes-sur-Loire

    Bouchemaine / Chalonnes-sur-Loire [16 km]

    Start at La Pointe, in a tremendous setting in the heart of Anjou, where the Maine River joins the Loire. A bit west, this magical Loire à Vélo stage allows you glimpses of the prestigious vine-covered slopes of Savennières. You follow the wild Loire closely here. Don’t miss Béhuard Island before going on to cross Chalonnes’s island.

    Difficulty: Family view the detail
  • Chalonnes-sur-Loire / St-Florent-le-Vieil

    Chalonnes-sur-Loire / St-Florent-le-Vieil [28 km]

    This Loire à Vélo stage in Anjou crosses the startling island of Chalonnes, one of the largest on the Loire. Nearby, along the south bank, are the celebrated Coteaux du Layon vineyards, then the pretty perched villages of Montjean-sur-Loire and St-Florent-le-Vieil. The route is along quiet roads, cyclists able to make the most of the raised Loire-side levées and views across the islands.

    Difficulty: Intermediate view the detail
  • St-Florent-le-Vieil / Champtoceaux

    St-Florent-le-Vieil / Champtoceaux [24.5 km]

    From Mont Glonne, at the top of St-Florent-le-Vieil, with its great views of the Loire Valley, this Loire à Vélo stage goes on to Champtoceaux, an historic fortified site with further tremendous river views, standing on Anjou’s frontier with the Pays d’Ancenis on the north bank. It’s worth conquering the heights of St-Florent and Champtoceaux for the panoramas! The route is along quiet roads and greenways.

    Difficulty: Family view the detail
  • Champtoceaux / Mauves-sur-Loire

    Champtoceaux / Mauves-sur-Loire [11.5 km]

    Welcome to the Basse-Loire, or Lower Loire and the county of Loire Atlantique. The importance of the Atlantic begins to be felt on this Loire à Vélo stage, as the ocean starts to exert more of an influence. The Loire islands, vine-covered slopes producing Muscadet wine and flat, very fertile market-gardening fields on the way to Nantes provide pleasingly varied landscapes. This Loire à Vélo stage proves interesting as well as easy.

    Difficulty: Family view the detail
  • Mauves-sur-Loire / Nantes

    Mauves-sur-Loire / Nantes [19 km]

    Designated European Green Capital in 2013, the city of Nantes comes into view, a shaded towpath offering a gentle way into town. The new Tabarly Bridge leads over to L’île de Nantes, home to extraordinary outsized machines you can ride on, and to the Malakoff Quarter, being completely renovated. This island makes for a great introduction to the joyous tumult of the largest city along the Loire à Vélo cycle route.

    Difficulty: Family view the detail
  • Itinéraire vélo Layon-Aubance des Ponts-de-Cé à Thouarcé

    Itinéraire vélo Layon-Aubance des Ponts-de-Cé à Thouarcé [31 km]

    Leaving from Les Ponts-de-Cé, beside the Loire just south of Angers, this stage takes you meandering through the Aubance Valley vineyards. Discover beautiful, typical Anjou houses and windmills along the way. The village of Brissac and its vast castle make for a pleasing stop before continuing to the Layon Valley at Thouarcé.

    Difficulty: Intermediate view the detail
  • Itinéraire Layon-Aubance à vélo de Thouarcé à Chalonnes-sur-Loire

    Itinéraire Layon-Aubance à vélo de Thouarcé à Chalonnes-sur-Loire [27.5 km]

    In the heart of the lovely Coteaux du Layon et de l’Aubance vineyards, the route follows the meanders of the Layon River closely, going along a disused railway line. After the village of Thouarcé, cross the picturesque winemakers’ villages of Rablay-sur-Layon, St-Aubin-de-Luigné and Chaudefonds-sur-Layon. Take in the lovely houses, grape-pickers’ huts and lime ovens, plus the historic locks of the Canal de Monsieur, and Pont Barré, closely associated with the bitter anti-Revolutionary Guerres de Vendée.

    Difficulty: Family view the detail

Trouver mon parcours vélo

Il n'existe aucune étape correspondant à vos critères

Vous êtes ici : Accueil

La Loire à Vélo d'Angers à Nantes

[ Itinéraire EuroVelo 6 Bâle > Atlantique ]
  • 107 km

Terre d’eaux douces et de zones humides, l’Anjou mène la Loire jusqu’aux portes du Pays nantais sur ce tronçon de l’EuroVelo 6 commun avec La Loire à Vélo. Après Ancenis, le fleuve s’élargit, la vallée s’aplanit, et la Loire mêle son eau douce aux remontées salines de l’océan Atlantique. Aux effluves des zones de cultures maraichères, s’agrège l’air salin d’un estuaire imprégné d’art contemporain. Un parcours vélo assez facile.

Chargement de la carte en cours
En vert, les services "Accueil Vélo"
Chargement en cours... loading

Les 8 étapes du tronçon « La Loire à Vélo d'Angers à Nantes »

  • Angers / Bouchemaine

    Angers / Bouchemaine [8.8 km]

    Au cœur de l’Anjou, cette étape de La Loire à Vélo laisse Angers face au château et par le lac de Maine dans un cadre verdoyant. Une étape enchanteresse, quasiment sans voitures, à travers un parc linéaire au bord de la rivière. Il sera agréable de faire halte sur les quais à Bouchemaine et leurs restaurants typiques ou pour un pique-nique en bord de Loire.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • Bouchemaine / Chalonnes-sur-Loire

    Bouchemaine / Chalonnes-sur-Loire [16 km]

    En Anjou, voici La Pointe, site majestueux où la Maine jette ses eaux dans la Loire. Un peu plus loin, cette étape magique de la Loire à Vélo laisse voir les prestigieux coteaux viticoles de Savennières. Le fleuve sauvage est ici suivi au plus près et le détour par l’île de Béhuard immanquable, avant d’entreprendre la traversée de l’île de Chalonnes.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • Chalonnes-sur-Loire / St-Florent-le-Vieil

    Chalonnes-sur-Loire / St-Florent-le-Vieil [28 km]

    Voici une étape de la Loire à Vélo qui traverse l’étonnante île fluviale de Chalonnes, l’une des plus vastes du Val de Loire. Autours ce sont les fameux coteaux du Layon puis les jolis villages perchés de Montjean-sur-Loire et de St-Florent-le-Vieil. Une étape sur petites routes où le cycliste profite des levées de la Loire et de la vue sur les îles.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire voir le détail
  • St-Florent-le-Vieil / Champtoceaux

    St-Florent-le-Vieil / Champtoceaux [24.5 km]

    Du mont Glonne au sommet de St-Florent-le-Vieil, d’où l’on embrasse du regard généreusement le Val de Loire, cette étape de La Loire à Vélo rejoint Champtoceaux, aux confins de l’Anjou et du pays d’Ancenis, ancienne place forte et autre formidable panorama. Deux points hauts à conquérir absolument ! Un parcours sur petites routes et voies vertes.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • La Loire à vélo, de Champtoceaux à Mauves-sur-Loire

    La Loire à vélo, de Champtoceaux à Mauves-sur-Loire [11.5 km]

    Bienvenue en Basse-Loire où l’influence maritime commence ici à poindre sur la Loire à Vélo au rythme des marées de l’Atlantique. Les îles de Loire, les coteaux viticoles du muscadet et les tenues maraichères qui alimentent la France, composent un paysage varié à l’approche de Nantes. Une étape de la Loire à Vélo facile et intéressante.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • La Loire à Vélo, Mauves-sur-Loire Nantes

    La Loire à Vélo, Mauves-sur-Loire Nantes [19 km]

    Nantes, capitale verte européenne 2013 est désormais à quelques encablures, la voie verte en partie ombragé permet une arrivée en douceur. Le nouveau pont Tabarly qui mène à l’île de Nantes et ses machines ou le quartier Malakoff, en plein renouveau, marquent l’entrée dans le joyeux tumulte de la plus importante agglomération de la Loire à Vélo.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • Itinéraire vélo Layon-Aubance des Ponts-de-Cé à Thouarcé

    Itinéraire vélo Layon-Aubance des Ponts-de-Cé à Thouarcé [31 km]

    Au départ des Ponts-de-Cé, cet itinéraire vélo vous propose de sillonner à travers le vignoble de l’Aubance, de découvrir les moulins et les belles demeures caractéristiques de l’Anjou. Brissac et son château constitueront une étape agréable avant de retrouver le Layon à Thouarcé.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire voir le détail
  • Itinéraire Layon-Aubance à vélo de Thouarcé à Chalonnes-sur-Loire

    Itinéraire Layon-Aubance à vélo de Thouarcé à Chalonnes-sur-Loire [27.5 km]

    Au cœur des fameux vignobles du Coteaux du Layon et de l’Aubance, l’itinéraire vélo épouse les méandres du Layon en empruntant une ancienne voie de chemin de fer. De Thouarcé le parcours traverse les pittoresques villages vignerons de Rablay-sur-Layon, St-Aubin de Luigné et Chaudefonds-sur-Layon. Durant votre balade à vélo prenez le temps d’apprécier les cabanes de vignerons, belles demeures, fours à chaux, anciennes écluses du canal de Monsieur ainsi que le Pont Barré, haut lieu des Guerres de Vendée.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail