Find my cycling route

No stage matches your requirements

You are here: Home

Palinges / Paray-le-Monial

[ Cycle routes EuroVelo 6 ] [ The Canal du Centre by bike from Chalon to Digoin / Bourgogne-Franche-Comté ]
  • 16.5 km
  • intermediaire Level Intermediate

Starting with the elegant Château de Digoine, this EuroVelo 6 stage crosses a part of Burgundy that takes you back in time, scattered with meadows where beautiful white Charolais cows graze. The route is along roads leading to the remarkable little pilgrimage town of Paray-le-Monial and to the canal-side greenway going on to the town of Digoin.

Map loading...
Green pictograms are for Cyclists Welcome service providers

Route
The official signposted route is provisional from Palinges until the greenway and is for experienced cyclists only, as there are many slopes. Alternatively follow the D 974 road beside the canal from La Gravoine; traffic is quite busy, but you avoid the slopes. The greenway starts north of Paray, leading into town via the Moulin-Liron Park (after lock 23).

Railway stations - SNCF

Paray-le-Monial station
TER (local services) Dijon > Chagny > Montchanin > Paray-le-Monial > Digoin > Moulin-sur-Allier

Don’t miss

Palinges: Château de Digoine, with guided or unaccompanied tours of the castle.
Paray-le-Monial: a pilgrimage town with remarkable architecture, a Romanesque basilica, a significant historic quarter and a museum of religious art, and staging many events.

Marchés

Paray-le-Monial : Friday and Saturday morning

Tourist Information Centre

Paray-le-Monial : +33 (0)3 85 81 10 92

Chargement en cours... loading

Digoine Castle to Palinges

Although the building is well worth a visit, you will also enjoy a nice walk through the vast landscaped park that surrounds it, between the pond, the French garden, rows of orange trees in bicentennial boxes and countless palm trees.

 

Museum of Sacred Art

Behind the white neo-classical façade, unexpectedly juxtaposed to the rustic town, this museum offers an interesting mix of genres: ornaments from church frontages of different periods, paintings inspired by Egyptian and Biblical times, Latin inscriptions - this is a mixed collection that will fascinate history buffs.

Your reviews

0/5

No review on this stage. Be the first to leave a review !

You know this stage ? Tell us what you think.

Post your review

See other stages of EuroVelo 6

Trouver mon parcours vélo

Il n'existe aucune étape correspondant à vos critères

Vous êtes ici : Accueil

Palinges / Paray-le-Monial

[ Itinéraire EuroVelo 6 Bâle > Atlantique ] [ Le canal du Centre à vélo de Chalon à Digoin / Bourgogne-Franche-Comté ]
  • 16.5 km
  • intermediaire Niveau Intermédiaire

Avec l’élégant château de Digoine cette étape de l’EuroVelo 6 traverse une Bourgogne hors du temps couverte de pâtures offertes aux belles vaches charolaises. C’est un parcours sur routes qui mène au remarquable village de Paray-le-Monial et à la voie verte qui rallie ensuite Digoin le long du canal.

Chargement de la carte en cours
En vert, les services "Accueil Vélo"

Itinéraire

Parcours provisoire officiel balisé de Palinges à l’entrée de la voie verte, réservé aux cyclistes expérimentés (nombreuses côtes). Possibilité de suivre depuis la Gravoine, la D 974 qui longe le canal, assez fréquentée mais sans côtes. Voie verte à partir du nord de Paray avec accès direct à ce village par le parc du Moulin-Liron (après l’écluse 23).

SNCF


Gares de Paray-le-Monial
TER Dijon > Chagny > Montchanin > Paray-le-Monial > Digoin > Moulin-sur-Allier

OT

Paray-le-Monial : 03 85 81 10 92

A ne pas manquer

Paray-le-Monial : ancienne cité au prestigieux patrimoine, quartier historique, basilique romane, musée d’art sacré, nombreux évènements.

Marchés

Paray-le-Monial : Vendredi et samedi matin

Chargement en cours... loading

La basilique à Paray-Le-Monial

Cette fondation clunisienne fut élevée par des architectes clunisiens pendant la deuxième moitié du XIe siècle. Elle dresse toujours son imposante silhouette, un narthex encadré de deux imposantes tours carrées, sur la rue de la Visitation.

Le château de Digoine à Palinges

Si l’édifice mérite une visite, vous apprécierez aussi de vous promener dans l’immense parc paysager qui l’entoure, entre l’étang, le jardin à la françaises, les alignements d’orangers dans des caisses bicentenaires et les innombrables palmiers.

Vos avis

0/5

Aucun avis sur cette étape. Soyez le premier à en donner un !

Vous connaissez cette étape ? Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.

Déposer votre avis

Voir les autres étapes de EuroVelo 6 Bâle > Atlantique